Navigation and service



The tasks of the Bundesbank

The Deutsche Bundesbank is the central bank of the Federal Republic of Germany. Eurosystem monetary policy is the Bundesbank’s core business area. Other core business areas include the financial and monetary system, banking supervision, cashless payments and cash operations.


Unterricht innerhalb der Ausbildung

School service

The Deutsche Bundesbank features material on money and monetary policy that has been specially tailored to the needs of schoolchildren.


Additional information

What is the Bundesbank's mission?  

Cover of the Publication: What is the Bundesbank's mission?

Monetary policy, financial stability, banking supervision, payment systems and cash management – here you find an overview of the main tasks of the Deutsche Bundesbank.

Brochure, 8 pages

Open file 3 MB, PDF