Navigation and service

Deutsche Bundesbank (Link to homepage)

Speech
Carl-Ludwig Thiele Member of the Executive Board of the Deutsche Bundesbank

From Bitcoin to digital central bank money – still a long way to go

Keynote at the OMFIF roundtable discussion

London | 20.09.2017

David
Ladies and gentlemen

I am delighted that the Official Monetary and Financial Institutions Forum has invited me to share my thoughts with you here today. The OMFIF – an independent think tank for central banking, economic policy and public investment – has made quite a name for itself. Independence, especially, but also freedom from political responsibility, is a precious asset.

London has always been one of my favourite destinations, and it is an ideal venue for discussing new virtual currencies. Not just on account of London’s immense importance as a financial centre, but mainly because of the City’s understanding of markets and market trends.

This understanding encompasses the major role played by central banks and financial market infrastructures. It was, after all, Walter Bagehot, who, in his 1873 treatise Lombard Street, laid the very foundations of how we see central banks nowadays.

In this work, Walter Bagehot gives the following characterisation of London’s bankers:
"The name ‘London Banker’ had especially a charmed value. He was supposed to represent, and often did represent, a certain union of pecuniary sagacity and educated refinement which was scarcely to be found in any other part of society."

 

1 Trust – the foundations underpinning our money

That quote is taken, as I said, from Bagehot’s book Lombard Street: A Description of the Money Market, in which he also mentions the main questions facing the financial system:
"Credit means that a certain confidence is given, and a certain trust reposed. Is that trust justified? And is that confidence wise? These are the cardinal questions. To put it more simply, credit is a set of promises to pay; will those promises be kept?"

That brings us to the nub of the matter. Money, ladies and gentlemen, is all about trust. The key to a stable currency is trust.

The original promise of Bitcoin was to forge a "trustless" payment system – that is, one that required no trust. I quote from Satoshi Nakamoto’s paper from 2008 (Bitcoin: A Peer-to-Peer Electronic Cash System):
"What is needed is an electronic payment system based on cryptographic proof instead of trust, allowing any two willing parties to transact directly with each other without the need for a trusted third party."

I feel that too little attention is being paid to Nakamoto’s primary goal of constructing a groundbreaking, trustless electronic payment system which, like cash, would facilitate peer-to-peer (P2P) transactions. At the same time, Nakamoto was looking to create a currency which was not based on trust. This aspect – forging a new currency that does away with central banks – has become a major talking point in the current debate. I have come here today to explain why a trustless currency is not feasible, and I will also argue that the merits of blockchain can be harnessed more readily with trustworthy institutions than without.

To get a grasp of Bitcoin, we need to put our minds to the essence of money. There are two types of money. Money as a commodity, and money as a claim.

Money as a commodity, that could be a commonly used consumer good which is mostly non-perishable. Cigarettes, for instance, were used as a money substitute in Germany after the Second World War.

But equally, money could be a durable good – gold being the most prominent example of this. Gold is extraordinarily durable, and it has an intrinsic value as a sought after industrial metal, say, or as jewellery. Indeed, for centuries, delivering gold was regarded as the ultimate form of settling a claim.

Consumer and durable goods which can be used as money substitutes both have an intrinsic, consumption or utility value.

Virtual currencies, meanwhile, which are transferred much like goods, are a fabrication. That is not to consign them straight to the category of "fraud". Yet they have no intrinsic value, just an exchange value. You can't consume or use them, only exchange them.

On the other hand, there is money as a claim. The bulk of our money – central bank money and commercial bank money – is a claim on either the central bank or a commercial bank.

Every euro in cash and every euro in credit balances in TARGET2 represents a liability for the Eurosystem. And the euro is backed by the Eurosystem with its constituent central banks, one of which is the Bundesbank.

Unlike consumer or durable goods, central bank money does not have any consumption or utility value. And the issuing central bank’s credit quality and integrity is reflected in the value of its currency. The value of a currency, then, hinges on trust in the central bank.

Not just that: the issuer – so in the euro’s case, the Eurosystem – takes collateral from its monetary policy counterparties as a "deposit" for providing euro currency. That indirectly anchors the euro in the real economy.

Virtual currencies, by contrast, have no issuer, no footing in the real economy. No one has to redeem them. They are a fabrication and propagate according to a fictitious set-up in virtual systems which, in some cases, can be altered or newly created at the whim of a small group of participants. What is more, their governance regime is opaque, if not to say obscure – not to mention the fact that the identity of the participant or participants – no one knows for sure how many there are – behind the pseudonym Satoshi Nakamoto remains shrouded in mystery.

Virtual currencies are exchanged in the same way as goods, but they have no intrinsic value of their own. That is undoubtedly one reason why their value is highly volatile. Over the long term, that naturally also exposes Bitcoin holders to the risk of total loss. For us, Bitcoin is not money, it is a speculative plaything. The great number of sometimes dubious initial coin offerings is a clear indication that Bitcoin is more of a funding instrument.

To repeat: it is more of a speculative plaything than a form of payment. Hence my repeated warnings against investing in virtual currencies. We are witnessing a remarkable increase in the value of some virtual currencies. But that does not alter the risk of total loss.

2 Blockchain/DLT in the world of payments

For us, Bitcoin’s most important contribution is the underlying blockchain technology, or to put it more broadly, distributed ledger technology (DLT). This technology could help boost efficiency in payment and settlement processes.

That is why we have been looking at this technology from three different perspectives. First, the Bundesbank develops and runs major payment and settlement systems, often in conjunction with other central banks, and in this context we explore innovative technical capabilities which can contribute to their stability and efficiency.

Second, the Bundesbank acts as a catalyst to forge improvements in payment operations and settlement structures. The better the Bundesbank grasps the practical implications of technologies or processes, the more forcefully it will be able to present its arguments, which always aim to preserve the stability and enhance the efficiency of payment and settlement systems.

Third, the Bundesbank monitors the stability of systems and tools used in the field of payments and settlement. Being able to gauge the relative merits of state-of-the-art technology is a key skill in this regard. That is why the Bundesbank – much like other central banks worldwide – has been putting a great deal of thought into DLT, even though this technology is still very much in its infancy.

Potentially, distributed data storage means that DLT can simplify reconciliation processes associated with complex work-sharing value added chains. DLT is seen as having disruptive potential since it generally allows transactions to be carried out directly – that is, without intermediaries.

Developed originally for the virtual currency Bitcoin, DLT will nonetheless require extensive modifications if it is to be adapted to the needs of the financial sector. For one thing, the legal framework as it stands requires participants to be identifiable, transactions to be kept secret from third parties, and transactions to be settled with finality.

For another, transaction throughput needs to be high. That said, some of the consensus mechanisms, as they are known, absorb so much time and energy that efficient settlement seems barely possible. Furthermore, they require substantial additional data transfers, which adds to the costs.

For comparison purposes, the Bitcoin network, at its peak, settles roughly 350,000 transactions worldwide every day, and given its current configuration, appears to be running at almost full capacity. The German payment system alone, meanwhile, processes more than 75 million transactions on average every business day, according to the data for 2016.

The traditional answer to the problem of mounting complexity in the interactions of a multitude of independent participants has been to use a central bank – an institution which centralises the settlement of payment transactions. Hence the name: Central. Bank. This arrangement channels the many different bilateral payment flows and order books into larger flows which are then routed via or by the central bank and posted in a central bank account. That was a huge step towards greater stability and efficiency in the world of payments.

As a matter of fact, that is why we are seeing a trend towards centralisation and hierarchical structures in the development of basic blockchains as well. There are multiple reasons why a pure P2P settlement arrangement does not appear viable.

A pure P2P world appears unfeasible without trusted institutions. I call this factor the lack of a real reference framework. Bitcoins, you see, are merely virtual, and they change hands between virtual participants. They never leave the Bitcoin blockchain, and they will never have a real point of reference until they are exchanged for real currency, which takes place outside the blockchain.

Once real transactions come into play, a real point of reference is needed. You can trade a house on the blockchain in the form of a virtual token. But on the blockchain, that tells you nothing about whether the house even exists, whether it has the features it is said to possess, and whether it belongs to the seller in the first place. To verify all those things, there needs to be a trustworthy outside third party.

The basic matter of a participant’s personal identity needs to be verifiable outside the blockchain. Only then can we conduct real transactions with that participant.

That is why I feel that the purported goal of settling transactions without trustworthy third parties is a pie in the sky proposition.

All in all, we are highly sceptical about the extent to which DLT can be put to use in the financial sector. Given the current state of the art, it is somewhat unlikely that DLT will become a widely used application in individual and retail payments.

In the field of securities settlement, though, the shrinking processing times and reconciliation costs might prove to be a more important factor and suggest that DLT does have its uses.

The Deutsche Bundesbank is analysing the pros and cons of DLT in a project it is running with Deutsche Börse. While this project indicates that DLT does indeed have its functional merits, it is still unclear how far DLT also has the edge over today’s technology in terms of security, efficiency, costs and speed.

3 Central bank-issued digital currency

When using DLT, the question might arise in future as to whether central bank-issued digital currency could be provided for the safe settlement of larger transactions.

Central bank-issued digital currency would rank alongside cash and credit balances with the central bank as another form of central bank money, and it would also need to be posted as a liability on the central bank’s balance sheet.

There are several technical options in terms of the form this would take. Transfers could be value-based (like cash) or account-based (like deposits), anonymous or registered, its use could be restricted – in terms of amount or payment purpose, say – and it could be remunerated or, like cash, earn no interest.

The specific design dictates not just how far the supposed benefits of DLT-based central bank-issued digital currency will come into play, but also the macroeconomic repercussions, which also need to be factored into any overall verdict on its merits.

Arguably, the most important question here concerns who exactly should be allowed to use central bank-issued digital currency, or, to be more specific, whether central bank-issued digital currency should be issued to non-banks as well. Because if that were the case, we would probably see substitution effects between the different forms of money. Confining its use to the settlement of transactions among banks, on the other hand, would not involve any substantial changes over the status quo.

In particular, non-banks could convert their sight deposits at banks into central bank-issued digital currency if storage as an entry on the distributed ledger appears more secure and more convenient than hoarding it as cash.

Significant parts of non-banks’ sight deposits being shifted into a blockchain, however, and no longer being available­ to the credit institutions as virtually unremunerated funding ­might have considerable repercussions for the interest margin, the scale of lending ­as well as the business models in the banking system and the banking system’s structure.

Moreover, simply expanding the monetary base accompanied by sight deposits being shifted into central bank-issued digital currency would require a larger amount of collateral and would thus have a significant impact on the structure and risk profile of the central banks’ balance sheets.

There is a wide variety of potential monetary policy and stability policy implications. And these are currently being investigated by a number of central banks. As things stand, the likely consequences remain to be seen.

In a nutshell, the title of my speech today: "From Bitcoin to digital central bank money – still a long way to go" sums up the status quo of our considerations.

The road to a digital central bank – assuming there would be any benefits in the first place – would be a very lengthy one. At present, there is not even a recognised basic blockchain. Major consortiums are developing different types of basic blockchains, each with their own particular features. Not all of them can be used in the financial sector.

At the same time, applications for payment and settlement systems are being developed on these shifting sands. There is a lot going on in this field. Technology has been advancing at a pace unseen in the past decades.

4 Conclusion

Ladies and gentlemen

For us as a central bank, trust is our most precious asset. When questions of fundamental importance arise concerning the monetary system or the settlement of payments or securities, we cannot stand on the sidelines.

In its capacity as an operator, supervisor and catalyst, the Bundesbank analyses all the key technical issues so that it can actively shape the ongoing conversation about DLT by contributing insights of its own.

Our intention is to proceed in an objective and transparent manner. We wish to neither hype up a “hot topic” nor hinder the development of highly promising innovations. In the field of payments and settlement, for which I am the competent Executive Board member at the Bundesbank, the stability and efficiency of systems alone is our primary concern.

So from that vantage point, healthy scepticism, coupled with curiosity and critical analysis, is warranted when it comes to both DLT and central bank-issued digital currency. Central bank-issued digital currency, I believe, is currently an unrealistic prospect.

Thank you for your attention.

Deutsche Bundesbank
Communications Department

Wilhelm-Epstein-Straße 14, 60431 Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Internet: www.bundesbank.de | E-mail: info@bundesbank.de
Tel: +49 69 9566-0 | Fax: +49 69 9566-3077

Reproduction permitted only if source is stated.

Navigation und Service

Deutsche Bundesbank (zur Startseite)

Rede
Carl-Ludwig Thiele Mitglied des Vorstands der Deutschen Bundesbank

From Bitcoin to digital central bank money – still a long way to go

Keynote bei der OMFIF Roundtable Diskussion

London | 20.09.2017

Meine sehr verehrten Damen und Herren,

es freut mich, heute auf Einladung des Official Monetary and Financial Institutions Forum mit Ihnen sprechen zu können. Das Forum – ein unabhängiger Think Tank for central banking, economic policy and public investment – hat sich einen Namen gemacht. Gerade die Unabhängigkeit, auch die Unabhängigkeit von eigener politischer Verantwortung, ist ein wesentliches Gut.

Ich komme immer gerne nach London London ist ein guter Ort, um über neue virtuelle Währungen zu sprechen. Nicht nur wegen der Bedeutung des Finanzzentrums London, sondern vor allem wegen des hier herrschenden Verständnisses für Märkte und Marktentwicklungen.

Dieses Verständnis schließt die wichtige Rolle von Zentralbanken und Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen ein. Immerhin war es Walter Bagehot, der in seinem Traktat "Lombard Street" im Jahre 1873 die Grundlage des modernen Verständnisses von Zentralbanken legte.

Von Walter Bagehot ist folgende Charakterisierung der Londoner Banker überliefert:
"The name ‘London Banker’ had especially a charmed value. He was supposed to represent, and often did represent, a certain union of pecuniary sagacity and educated refinement which was scarcely to be found in any other part of society."

1 Vertrauen als Basis unseres Geldes

Das Zitat stammt aus seinem Werk "Lombard Street: A Description of the Money Market." Hierin stellt er die Kardinalfrage des Geldwesens:
"Credit means that a certain confidence is given, and a certain trust reposed. Is that trust justified? And is that confidence wise? These are the cardinal questions. To put it more simply, credit is a set of promises to pay; will those promises be kept?"

Damit sind wir schon in medias res. Es geht, meine Damen und Herren, beim Geld um Vertrauen. Der Schlüssel für eine stabile Währung ist das Vertrauen.

Das ursprüngliche Versprechen von Bitcoin war, ein Zahlungssystem zu schaffen, das kein Vertrauen benötigt. Ich zitiere aus dem Papier von Satoshi Nakamoto aus dem Jahr 2008 ("Bitcoin: A Peer-to-Peer Electronic Cash System"):
"What is needed is an electronic payment system based on cryptographic proof instead of trust, allowing any two willing parties to transact directly with each other without the need for a trusted third party.”

Aus meiner Sicht wird zu wenig beachtet, dass es Nakamoto in erster Linie um die Schaffung eines neuartigen elektronischen Zahlungssystems ohne Vertrauen ging, das – wie Bargeld – Transaktionen von Person zu Person ermöglichen sollte. Gleichzeitig wollte Nakamoto eine Währung schaffen, die nicht auf Vertrauen basiert. Dieser Punkt ist bei der aktuellen Diskussion in den Vordergrund gerückt: die Schaffung einer neuen Währung ohne Zentralbanken. Ich möchte Ihnen heute darlegen, dass eine Währung ohne Vertrauen nicht möglich ist. Darüber hinaus werde ich dafür werben, dass die Vorteile der Blockchain mit vertrauenswürdigen Institutionen besser realisierbar sind als ohne.

Um Bitcoin zu verstehen, müssen wir uns mit der Natur des Geldes beschäftigen. Es gibt zwei Arten von Geld: Geld als Gut und Geld als Forderung.

Geld kann ein Konsumgut sein, das allgemein verbraucht wird und wenig verderblich ist. Zum Beispiel dienten nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg Zigaretten als Geldersatz in Deutschland.

Es kann jedoch auch ein Gebrauchsgut sein, das langlebig ist. Gold ist hier das wichtigste Beispiel. Gold hat eine außergewöhnliche Haltbarkeit und einen intrinsischen Wert beispielsweise als geschätztes Industriemetall und als Schmuck. In der Tat galt über Jahrhunderte die Lieferung von Gold als das ultimative Begleichen einer Forderung ("settlement").

Verbrauchs- und Gebrauchsgüter, welche Geldersatz sein können, haben beide einen intrinsischen Wert, einen Verbrauchs- oder einen Gebrauchswert.

Virtuelle Währungen dagegen, die ebenfalls wie ein Gut übertragen werden, sind frei erfunden. Sie haben keinen intrinsischen Wert, sondern lediglich einen Tauschwert. Man kann sie nicht konsumieren oder verwenden, sondern nur tauschen.

Auf der anderen Seite haben wir Geld als Forderung. Der überwiegende Teil unseres Geldes – Zentralbankgeld oder Geschäftsbankengeld – ist eine Forderung: entweder an die Zentralbank oder an eine Geschäftsbank.

Jeder Euro Bargeld und jeder Euro an Guthaben in TARGET2 sind eine Verbindlichkeit für das Eurosystem. Hinter dem Euro steht das Eurosystem mit seinen Zentralbanken, darunter die Bundesbank.

Anders als bei Verbrauchs-  oder Gebrauchsgütern hat Zentralbankgeld keinen Verbrauchs- oder Gebrauchswert. Mit der Bonität und Integrität einer emittierenden Zentralbank steigt und fällt auch der Wert ihrer Währung. Der Wert der Währung hängt am Vertrauen in die Zentralbank.

Außerdem nimmt der Emittent, im Falle des Euro das Eurosystem, für die Bereitstellung von Euro Sicherheiten seiner geldpolitischen Geschäftspartner als Pfand. Darin liegt eine mittelbare realwirtschaftliche Verankerung des Euro.

Virtuelle Währungen dagegen haben keinen Emittenten, keine reale Verankerung. Niemand muss sie zurücknehmen. Sie sind frei erfunden und vermehren sich nach einem erfundenen Schema in virtuellen Systemen, die zum Teil nach dem Belieben einer kleinen Gruppe geändert oder neu geschaffen werden können. Zudem unterliegen sie einer intransparenten Governance bis hin zu der Tatsache, dass bis heute unklar ist, wer und wie viele Personen sich hinter dem Pseudonym Satoshi Nakamoto verbergen.

Virtuelle Währungen werden wie Güter getauscht, haben aber keinen intrinsischen Wert. Darin liegt sicher auch ein Grund für die hohe Volatilität ihres Wertes. Langfristig liegt darin natürlich die Gefahr eines Totalverlustes. Bitcoin ist für die Deutsche Bundesbank kein Geld, sondern ein Spekulationsobjekt. Gerade die zahlreichen, mitunter dubios gestalteten Initial Coin Offerings zeigen, dass es sich eher um ein Finanzierungsinstrument handelt.

Es handelt sich mehr um ein Spekulationsobjekt als um ein Zahlungsmittel. Deshalb habe ich wiederholt vor der Investition in virtuelle Währungen gewarnt. Wir registrieren einen erstaunlichen Anstieg im Wert einzelner virtueller Währungen. Das ändert allerdings nichts an der Gefahr eines Totalverlustes. 

Blockchain / DLT im Zahlungsverkehr

Die Bundesbank hat sich mit der Technik und der Anwendung der Blockchain beschäftigt. Wir sehen den größten Beitrag von Bitcoin in der Blockchain-Technologie oder allgemeiner: der Distributed Ledger Technologie (DLT). Diese Technologie könnte dazu beitragen, Zahlungs- und Abwicklungsprozesse effizienter zu gestalten.

Wir beschäftigen uns deshalb in drei Rollen mit dieser Technik. Erstens entwickelt und betreibt die Bundesbank, oft gemeinsam mit anderen Zentralbanken, wichtige Zahlungs- und Abwicklungssysteme. Dazu prüfen wir innovative technische Möglichkeiten, die zu deren Stabilität und Effizienz beitragen.

Zweitens nimmt die Bundesbank eine Katalysatorrolle für die Weiterentwicklung des Zahlungsverkehrs und der Abwicklungsstrukturen ein. Je besser die Bundesbank praktische Implikationen von Techniken oder Verfahren versteht, desto mehr Gewicht haben ihre Argumente, die im Kern immer auf die Stabilität und Effizienz der Zahlungs- und Abwicklungssysteme zielen.

Und drittens überwacht die Bundesbank die Stabilität von Systemen und Instrumenten im Zahlungsverkehr und in den Abwicklungssystemen. Hier ist die Fähigkeit, moderne Technik einzuschätzen, eine wichtige Schlüsselqualifikation. Daher beschäftigt sich die Bundesbank – ähnlich wie andere Zentralbanken weltweit – intensiv mit der DLT, obwohl sich die Tech­nik noch in einem frühen Stadium ihrer Entwicklungsreife befindet.

Potenziell bietet die DLT einige Vorteile durch die gemeinsame Datenhaltung, welche Abstimmungsprozesse bei komplexen arbeitsteiligen Wertschöpfungsketten erleichtern kann. Da die DLT grundsätzlich direkte Transaktionen ohne Intermediäre ermöglicht, wird ihr disruptives Potenzial beigemessen.

Die ursprünglich für die "virtuelle Währung" Bitcoin entwickelte DLT muss jedoch erheblich modifiziert werden, um sie an die Bedürfnisse des Finanzsektors anzupassen. So sind im bestehenden Rechtsrahmen zum Beispiel Identifizierbarkeit der Teilnehmer, Vertraulichkeit der Transaktionen gegenüber Dritten und absolute Finalität der Transaktionen unabdingbar.

Darüber hinaus ist ein hoher Transaktionsdurchsatz notwendig. Einige der sogenannten Konsensverfahren kosten allerdings so viel Zeit und Energie, dass eine effiziente Abwicklung kaum möglich scheint. Zudem verursachen sie einen erheblichen zusätzlichen Datentransfer und damit Kosten.

Zum Vergleich: Das Bitcoin-Netzwerk wickelt in der Spitze weltweit rund 350.000 Transaktionen ab und gilt vor dem Hintergrund der derzeitigen Spezifikationen als weitgehend ausgelastet. Allein im deutschen Zahlungsverkehr werden dagegen im Durchschnitt arbeitstäglich (Angaben für 2016) mehr als 75 Millionen Transaktionen abgewickelt.

Die klassische Lösung für eine zunehmende Komplexität im Austausch zwischen vielen unabhängigen Teilnehmern ist die Zentralbank. Wir schaffen ein Institut, über das der Zahlungsverkehr zentralisiert abgewickelt wird. Daher auch der Name "Zentralbank". Aus vielen bilateralen Zahlungsströmen und Skontren werden Ströme über die beziehungsweise von der Zentralbank mit Verbuchung auf einem Zentralbankkonto. Das hat ganz erheblich zur Stabilisierung und Effizienz des Zahlungsverkehrs beigetragen.

In der Tat sehen wir deshalb auch bei der Entwicklung von Basis-Blockchains eine Tendenz zur Zentralisierung und Hierarchisierung. Eine reine P2P-Abwicklung erscheint aus vielerlei Gründen nicht durchführbar.

Die reine P2P-Welt erscheint ohne vertrauenswürdige Institutionen nicht realisierbar. Ich nenne diesen Aspekt den fehlenden realen Referenzrahmen. Bitcoins sind nur virtuell und werden zwischen virtuellen Teilnehmern ausgetauscht. Sie verlassen nie die Bitcoin-Blockchain und haben keinen realen Bezug, solange sie nicht in eine reale Währung getauscht werden, was außerhalb der Blockchain erfolgt.

Sobald reale Transaktionen erfolgen sollen, ist ein realer Bezugspunkt notwendig. Man kann ein Haus in Form eines virtuellen Tokens auf der Blockchain handeln. Aber damit ist auf der Blockchain noch nichts darüber ausgesagt, ob das Haus überhaupt existiert, ob es über die beschriebenen Eigenschaften hat verfügt und ob es überhaupt dem Verkäufer gehört. Um das zu bestätigen, bedarf es eines externen vertrauenswürdigen Dritten.

Allein schon die persönliche Identität eines Teilnehmers muss außerhalb der Blockchain verifizierbar sein. Erst dann können wir mit diesem Teilnehmer echte Transaktionen durchführen.

Insgesamt sehen wir die Anwendbarkeit der DLT im Finanzsektor sehr skeptisch. Eine breite Anwendung der DLT im Individual- oder Massenzahlungsverkehr erscheint beim gegenwärtigen Stand der Technik eher unwahrscheinlich.

In der Wertpapierabwicklung könnten gleichwohl die sinkenden Prozesszeiten und Abstimmungskosten von größerer Bedeutung sein und für Anwendungen sprechen.

Die Bundesbank analysiert die Vor- und Nachteile der DLT in einem Projekt zusammen mit der Deutschen Börse. Funktional erscheint die DLT danach durchaus geeignet, es ist jedoch derzeit unklar, inwieweit die DLT auch im Hinblick auf Sicherheit, Effizienz, Kosten, Geschwindigkeit Vorteile gegenüber der heutigen Technik bietet.

3 Digitales Zentralbankgeld

Zukünftig könnte sich die Frage bei der Nutzung von DLT stellen, ob zur sicheren Abwicklung entsprechend größerer Transaktionen digitales Zentralbankgeld bereitgestellt werden könnte.

Digitales Zentralbankgeld träte als weitere Ausprägung des Zentralbankgelds neben Bargeld und Guthaben bei der Zentralbank und wäre ebenso in der Bilanz als Verbindlichkeit der Zentralbank zu verbuchen.

Es bestehen mehrere technische Optionen in seiner Ausgestaltung. So könnte es wertbasiert (wie Bargeld) oder kontenbasiert (wie Einlagen) sowie anonym oder mit Registerführung übertragen werden, die Nutzung könnte beschränkt werden, beispielsweise im Betrag oder im Verwendungszweck und es könnte verzinst oder aber wie Bargeld unverzinst sein.

Die konkrete Ausgestaltung bestimmt nicht nur, inwieweit die mutmaßlichen Vorteile DLT-basierten digitalen Zentralbankgeldes zum Tragen kommen, sondern auch die für eine umfassende Würdigung ebenfalls zu berücksichtigenden gesamtwirtschaftlichen Auswirkungen.

Die dabei wohl wichtigste Frage ist die des zugelassenen Nutzerkreises, genauer, ob digitales Zentralbankgeld auch für Nichtbanken ausgegeben werden sollte. Denn in diesem Fall müsste mit Substitutionseffekten der verschiedenen Geldformen gerechnet werden. Bei einer auf die Abwicklung von Transaktionen unter Banken beschränkten Nutzung würde sich dagegen wenig substanziell verändern gegenüber heute.

Insbesondere könnten Nichtbanken ihre Sichtguthaben bei Banken in digitales Zentralbankgeld umwandeln, sofern die Verwahrung als Eintrag auf dem Distributed Ledger sicherer und bequemer als die bare Hortung erscheint.

Wenn aber signifikante Teile der Sichtguthaben der Nichtbanken in eine Blockchain verlagert würden und nicht mehr als praktisch unverzinsliche Refinanzierung den Kreditinstituten zur Verfügung stünden, dann könnte dies erhebliche Auswirkungen auf die Zinsmarge, das Ausmaß der Kreditgewährung, sowie die Geschäftsmodelle im Bankensystem und dessen Struktur haben.

Zudem erforderte die einfache Ausweitung der Geldbasis, die mit einer Umschichtung von Sichteinlagen in digitales Zentralbankgeld einherginge, eine größere Menge an Sicherheiten und hätte damit erhebliche Auswirkungen auf Struktur und Risikoprofil der Notenbankbilanzen. Das gilt unabhängig davon, ob auch Nichtbanken oder nur Banken Zugriff auf digitales Zentralbankgeld erhalten.

Die möglichen geld- und stabilitätspolitischen Implikationen sind sehr vielfältig. Dies wird derzeit von einigen Zentralbanken erforscht. Noch sind die zu erwartenden Folgen nicht absehbar.

Kurzum, der Titel, zu dem ich spreche: "From BitCoin to digital central bank money – still a long way to go" zeigt den Status quo unserer Überlegungen.

Der Weg zu digitalem Zentralbankgeld, wenn es denn überhaupt Vorteile verspricht, wäre ein sehr langer. Derzeit existiert noch nicht einmal eine anerkannte Basis-Blockchain. Große Konsortien entwickeln verschiedene Formen von Basis-Blockchains mit unterschiedlichen Eigenschaften. Nicht alle davon sind im Finanzsektor anwendbar.

Gleichzeitig werden auf dieser sich ändernden Basis Anwendungen für Zahlungs- und Abwicklungssysteme entwickelt. Es ist viel in Bewegung. Technische Entwicklungen gehen in einem Tempo voran, wie wir es in den letzten Jahrzehnten noch nicht erlebt haben.

4 Schluss

Meine Damen und Herren,

für uns als Zentralbank ist Vertrauen das höchste Gut. Wenn es um essenzielle Fragen der Geldordnung oder der Abwicklung von Zahlungen oder Wertpapieren geht, können wir nicht abseits stehen.

Die Bundesbank analysiert als Betreiber, Überwacher und in ihrer Katalysatorrolle alle wichtigen technischen Fragen, um am laufenden Diskurs mit eigenen Erkenntnissen aktiv teilnehmen zu können.

Wir bemühen uns um Sachlichkeit und Transparenz im Vorgehen. Wir möchten weder einen Hype beflügeln, noch vielversprechende Neuerungen in ihrer Entwicklung hemmen. Für uns im Zahlungsverkehr und in der Abwicklung, für die ich in der Bundesbank verantwortlich zeichne, ist allein die Stabilität und Effizienz der Systeme oberstes Ziel.

Mit Blick darauf ist für die DLT wie für digitales Zentralbankgeld eine gesunde Skepsis angebracht, gepaart mit Neugier und kritischer Analyse. Digitales Zentralbankgeld halte ich derzeit für unrealistisch.

Herzlichen Dank.

Deutsche Bundesbank
Kommunikation

Wilhelm-Epstein-Straße 14, 60431 Frankfurt am Main
Internet: http://www.bundesbank.de | E-Mail: info@bundesbank.de
Telefon: +49 69 9566-0 | Fax: +49 69 9566-3077

Bei publizistischer Verwertung wird um Angabe der Quelle gebeten.