Navigation and service

Deutsche Bundesbank (Link to homepage)

Speech
Dr Jens Weidmann President of the Deutsche Bundesbank

Keynote speech

Speech at the Frankfurt European Banking Congress "Europe into a New Era – How to Seize the Opportunities"

Frankfurt am Main | 17.11.2017

1 Introduction

Ladies and gentlemen

Central bank communication can certainly be tricky. That is why Bank of Japan Governor Haruhiko Kuroda said three days ago, during an ECB conference on this very issue, that the message needs to be simple. "It should better be straightforward," he told the audience. "That's the best way."

As was also alluded to at the conference by moderator David Wessel, there might now be a new option that would allow Governor Kuroda to be taken at face value – in the truest sense of the word.

Artificial intelligence researchers claim to have found clues in the facial expressions of the Bank of Japan Governor. Supposedly, Kuroda showed "fleeting signs of 'anger' and 'disgust'" at news conferences that preceded changes in monetary policy in 2016.

This raises important questions: Can we now make monetary policy changes with the blink of an eye? And will botox injections be the only way to uphold the maxim "we never pre-commit?"

On a more serious note: Artificial intelligence is a fascinating subject, with wide-ranging implications not least for economics and finance. But today I will confine myself to more everyday matters for a central banker – matters which definitely also have wide-ranging implications for our monetary union.

"Restoring the European project", the title of the upcoming panel, calls for policymakers to live up to their respective responsibilities. What is required of monetary policy, national governments, and European institutions? In the next 15 minutes, I will try to briefly sketch out some possible answers to this question.

2 Monetary policy

Let me start by having a short look at the Eurosystem's monetary policy.

The Eurosystem's expansive monetary policy has contributed significantly to the recovery in the euro area. Growth rates have been positive for more than four years. The unemployment rate has almost been reduced to its pre-crisis average. And economic indicators all point to a continued economic up-swing.

In Germany, indicators now suggest even stronger growth than outlined in our June projection. Over the last four years, capacity utilisation has steadily increased. And since 2016, the economy is even running above capacity. The duration and strength of the current recovery is impressive, especially against the background of high political uncertainty globally.

Inflation, however, has not quite kept pace with the recovery. Price pressures are expected to remain rather subdued.

Multiple factors seem to be at play here. The recovery has certainly been aided by the fact that most of the crisis-hit countries have strengthened their competitiveness and turned their current account deficits into surpluses. But improving price competitiveness through wage restraint is, naturally enough, also dampening domestic price pressures.

This factor is euro area-specific. But price pressures have been subdued in other countries, too, in spite of very low unemployment rates. It seems that global factors are affecting inflation as well. Research at the Bank for International Settlements suggests, for example, that greater labour market contestability as a result of global value chains are putting a lid on wages and thus price pressures.[1]

Given the rather subdued inflationary pressure at present, an accommodative monetary policy stance remains appropriate in the euro area. But we must be attuned to the fact that the economic recovery has progressed further than inflation figures currently suggest, and that domestic price pressures will gradually increase in keeping with a path towards our definition of price stability.

This is why, in my view, a less distinct loosening of monetary policy in the next year and setting a clear end date for net asset purchases would have been justified – also against the backdrop of increasing risks and side-effects, the longer monetary policy remains ultra-loose.

Euro-area monetary policy will remain highly accommodative even after net purchases under the asset purchase programme (APP) have been discontinued.

First, what is crucial for the overall effect of the APP is not so much the amount of monthly additional purchases but, above all, the total outstanding volume of sovereign bonds on our books. And the APP stocks held by the Eurosystem will remain at a very high level even after net purchases have been discontinued, as the Governing Council of the ECB has decided to reinvest the proceeds from the maturing bonds.

Second, the Governing Council has decided not to raise interest rates until well after the net purchases have ended.

Setting a clear end date to net asset purchases would have merely meant refraining from pushing down on the accelerator even further – not putting the brakes on monetary policy.

One thing has to be clear in any case: As Mario Draghi has pointed out: Monetary policy alone cannot bring lasting prosperity for our economies.[2] That is the task of governments and parliaments.

3 Economic challenges in Germany

In the wake of the sovereign debt crisis, many member states indeed introduced far-reaching reforms which allowed swifter macroeconomic adjustment. Some of them led to a better labour market performance. And some improved competition, thus providing new impetus for innovation.

But more measures are needed, not least in Germany. The challenges Germany faces might seem more latent than those of other member states. But even if the consequences of an aging society might present themselves less abruptly than a sovereign debt crisis, the challenge is no less real. Without policy action, Germany's growth potential is expected to fall below 1% within the next decade due to the reduction in labour supply.

It would therefore be sensible to modify provisions that discourage participation in the labour market. To further support the participation especially of women in the workforce, continued investments in childcare remain imperative as well.

However, Germany's growth potential cannot be strengthened simply by limiting the losses in labour supply. Germany's economy also has to become more productive.

Here, digitalisation holds untapped potential. Studies show that removing bottlenecks in broadband connection can raise economic growth, as this increases competition and induces innovative products and processes.[3]

To be able to fully capitalise on the digital dividend, investments in skills and education are key. This would not only boost labour productivity, but also enhance job security. And this, in turn, would in my view be the most effective antidote to the feeling many have of being threatened by globalisation and technological progress, both of which are at the root of our economic prosperity.

By the way, even within the European Union there is not yet a common market for digital products and the single market for services still has to be completed.

4 Strengthening the euro area's resilience

Facing economic challenges head-on will not only prove a boon to citizens' prosperity: it will also raise the equilibrium real interest rate. And this will make the job of a central bank substantially easier, as it adds distance to the lower bound of interest rates.

But while raising growth potential in Germany and the other member states will go a long way towards strengthening the euro area, it is not the last word in making our monetary union more resilient.

When it comes to resilience, the question of risk sharing has to be addressed. How can shocks that hit individual member states particularly hard be cushioned?

In the United States and other large currency areas, shocks are spread through the distribution of business profits and losses throughout the currency area, because company owners are often resident in other states. The sharing of losses across state borders in the United States absorbs around 40% of an economic shock.[4]

Saving and lending could represent another channel of private economic risk sharing. Enterprises and households take out loans in different US states during an economic downturn to bridge a slump in earnings. In the United States, this type of risk sharing smoothes something like 25% of a shock. To some extent, this includes a contribution of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation to this form of risk sharing. In Europe, however, the conditions for putting in place a similar euro-area-wide deposit insurance mechanism are not yet met. I will come back to this point in a few moments.

By comparison, risk sharing through fiscal policy takes a back seat. Only between 10% and 25% of all risks are shared by a common fiscal policy in federations like the US or Canada.[5]

It is thus clear that much could be achieved in the euro area if cross-border corporate funding were strengthened, particularly in the form of equity capital.

A raft of measures would be needed to tear down the walls in European capital markets. Standardising national insolvency regimes is just one especially important step worth mentioning. After all, investors need to count on having the same level playing field throughout Europe. Not only would that promote private risk sharing; it would also reduce capital flows into less productive businesses and stimulate flows in more productive ones. That, in turn, would boost economic momentum, as a recent OECD research paper confirms.[6]

On a general note, the development of equity capital markets, including in Europe, is suffering from the preferential tax treatment given to debt over equity capital.[7]

Interest payments can be deducted from taxable income; equity costs cannot. Eliminating this bias would encourage businesses to make greater use of equity capital as a funding instrument. And that would facilitate greater private risk sharing whilst at the same time reducing the debt bias.

Another way in which risk could potentially be shared in times of crisis might be for enterprises and households to take out cross-border loans. Yet this mechanism hardly worked during the crisis in the euro area. Even worse: Depositors in crisis-hit countries lost confidence in their domestic banking systems and withdrew their deposits. Banks in the euro area also lost confidence in each other and reined in their lending.

The Banking Union was created in part to overcome the financial fragmentation triggered by the sovereign debt crisis. With its Single Supervisory Mechanism and rules on bailing-in creditors in the event of bank failures, the Banking Union bolsters the banking sector's resilience. This makes a loss of confidence in national banking systems less likely. And less danger of a fragmented financial system stabilises cross-border lending, particularly in turbulent times.

A common European deposit guarantee scheme could, in theory, even heighten this confidence. However, as with any insurance policy, one would have to make sure in this case, too, that the insurance does not encourage imprudent behaviour.

Such risks can arise from carelessly granting credit to the private sector. But they can also result from providing sovereigns with too much credit. Since the onset of the sovereign debt crisis, at the latest, we know that loans to general government are not risk-free either.

Banks in the euro area have a sizable share of sovereign bonds on their books. To insure euro-area bank risks in such a situation would be tantamount to insuring fiscal risks.

Given that the member states themselves still decide freely and independently on the level of government expenditure and taxes, this ultimately sets the wrong incentives: finance ministers would see less of a need to pay adequate attention to the sustainability of public finances.

The precondition for a European deposit insurance scheme, then, is that the size of government bond portfolios that banks hold on their books is limited. Loans to sovereigns should not be treated any differently from loans to enterprises or individuals.

Another precondition concerns the stock of non-performing loans in the European banking system. Insurance usually covers future damage, not damage that already exists. Hence, in order to be eligible for a common deposit insurance, banks in the euro area have to either fully provision for non-performing loans or divest them.

Non-performing loans not only constitute an obstacle to a common deposit insurance scheme. They also weigh on financing conditions and, ultimately, growth prospects in the member states concerned. Banks need to clear up existing non-performing loans. And we need to establish rules that ensure the prudent management of non-performing loans in the future as well. The proposals that were recently made by the ECB in this regard strike me as a sensible way forward.

5 Conclusion

Ladies and gentlemen

Let me conclude.

After all, I would not want to evoke the feelings that a doctor once gave to a patient who craved immortality.

The doctor informed the patient that immortality was beyond the reach of medicine, but the patient was insistent: "Is there nothing I can do?" The doctor replied: "Well, there is one thing. You could marry an economist and move to North Dakota." "And that will make me immortal?" "No. But that way, even six months will seem like an eternity."

I thank you for your attention and wish you all a stimulating discussion.

Footnotes:

  1. Auer, R, C Borio and A Filardo (2017), "The globalisation of inflation: the growing importance of global value chains," BIS Working Papers 602, Bank for International Settlements.
  2. Draghi, M (2015), "Monetary policy and structural reforms in the euro area", Speech from 14 December 2015
  3. Czernich et al (2011), Broadband infrastructure and economic growth, Economic Journal Vol 121.
  4. Asdrubali, P, B E Sørensen, and O Yosha, "Channels of Interstate Risk Sharing: US 1963-1990", in Quarterly Journal of Economics, 111(4), 1996, pp 1081-1110.
  5. Allard, C, P K Brooks, J C Bluedorn, F Bornhorst, K Christopherson, F Ohnsorge, T Poghosyan and an IMF staff team (2013), "Towards a Fiscal Union for the Euro Area", IMF Staff Discussion Note, 13/09.
  6. Adalet McGowan, M and D Andrews (2016), "Insolvency Regimes and Productivity Growth: A Framework for Analysis", OECD Economics Department Working Papers No 1309.
  7. German Council of Economic Experts (2017), "Towards a future-oriented economic policy".

Deutsche Bundesbank
Communications Department

Wilhelm-Epstein-Straße 14, 60431 Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Internet: www.bundesbank.de | E-mail: info@bundesbank.de
Tel: +49 69 9566-0 | Fax: +49 69 9566-3077

Reproduction permitted only if source is stated.

Navigation und Service

Deutsche Bundesbank (zur Startseite)

Rede
Dr. Jens Weidmann Präsident der Deutschen Bundesbank

Europa auf dem Weg in ein neues Zeitalter – Wie können wir die Chancen nutzen?

Rede auf dem Europäischen Bankenkongress in Frankfurt am Main

Frankfurt am Main | 17.11.2017

1 Einleitung

Meine sehr verehrten Damen und Herren,

Zentralbankkommunikation kann wirklich eine heikle Sache sein. Darum betonte der japanische Zentralbankgouverneur Haruhiko Kuroda vor drei Tagen auf einer EZB-Konferenz zu ebendiesem Thema, dass die Botschaft klar und einfach sein müsse. "Am besten ist, sie ist möglichst direkt", gab er dem Publikum zu verstehen.

Der Moderator der Konferenz, David Wessel, wies darauf hin, dass es künftig vielleicht eine ganz neue Möglichkeit geben könnte, Gouverneur Kuroda die Botschaft regelrecht vom Gesicht abzulesen.

Forscher auf dem Gebiet der künstlichen Intelligenz behaupten nämlich, Hinweise in der Mimik des japanischen Zentralbankgouverneurs gefunden zu haben. Angeblich habe Kuroda auf Pressekonferenzen im Vorfeld geldpolitischer Veränderungen im Jahr 2016 "flüchtige Anzeichen von Wut und Empörung" gezeigt.

Dies stellt uns vor einige wichtige Fragen. Lässt sich die Geldpolitik inzwischen einfach per Wimpernschlag ändern? Und werden wir künftig alle Botox brauchen, um die Maxime aufrechterhalten zu können, dass sich eine Zentralbank niemals im Voraus festlegt?

Doch Spaß beiseite. Künstliche Intelligenz ist zwar ein faszinierendes Fachgebiet mit weitreichenden Implikationen auch für die Wirtschafts- und Finanzbranche. Heute möchte ich mich jedoch eher auf unser Alltagsgeschäft als Zentralbanker beschränken – das aber natürlich ebenfalls weitreichende Implikationen für unsere Währungsunion hat.

Damit die "Wiederbelebung des Projekts Europa" – so das Thema der anschließenden Podiumsdiskussion – gelingen kann, müssen die politischen Entscheidungsträger ihren jeweiligen Verantwortlichkeiten gerecht werden. Was bedeutet dies für die Geldpolitik, die nationalen Regierungen und die europäischen Institutionen? In den nächsten 15 Minuten werde ich versuchen, hierauf einige mögliche Antworten zu skizzieren.

2 Geldpolitik

Beginnen möchte ich mit einem kurzen Blick auf die Geldpolitik des Eurosystems.

Die expansive Geldpolitik des Eurosystems hat erheblich zur wirtschaftlichen Erholung im Euroraum beigetragen. Die Wachstumsraten sind seit mehr als vier Jahren wieder positiv. Die Arbeitslosigkeit wurde inzwischen fast auf das Vorkrisenniveau zurückgeführt. Und alle Konjunkturindikatoren deuten darauf hin, dass sich der Aufschwung fortsetzen wird.

In Deutschland lassen die jüngsten Indikatoren sogar ein noch stärkeres Wachstum erwarten als in unserer Projektion vom Juni vorhergesagt. In den vergangenen vier Jahren hat sich die Kapazitätsauslastung beständig erhöht. Und seit 2016 ist die deutsche Wirtschaft sogar überausgelastet. Der gegenwärtige Wirtschaftsaufschwung beeindruckt durch seine Dauer und Stärke, vor allem vor dem Hintergrund der hohen globalen politischen Unsicherheit.

Die Inflation hält jedoch nicht ganz mit der Konjunktur Schritt. Der Preisdruck dürfte eher verhalten bleiben.

Hier scheinen mehrere Faktoren zusammenzuspielen. Begünstigt wurde die wirtschaftliche Erholung im Euroraum eindeutig dadurch, dass die am stärksten von der Krise betroffenen Länder ihre Wettbewerbsfähigkeit gestärkt und ihre Leistungsbilanzdefizite in Überschüsse umgewandelt haben. Eine Verbesserung der preislichen Wettbewerbsfähigkeit durch Lohnzurückhaltung dämpft aber naturgemäß auch den binnenwirtschaftlichen Preisdruck.

Dieser Faktor ist auf den Euroraum beschränkt. Doch in anderen Ländern ist der Preisauftrieb trotz sehr niedriger Arbeitslosenquoten ebenfalls sehr schwach. Es scheint, als würden auch globale Faktoren die Inflation beeinflussen. So zeigen beispielsweise Analysen der Bank für Internationalen Zahlungsausgleich, dass die Entstehung globaler Wertschöpfungsketten den Wettbewerbsdruck am Arbeitsmarkt erhöht hat, was die Löhne und somit den Preisauftrieb dämpft.[1]

Angesichts des derzeit recht verhaltenen Inflationsdrucks ist im Euroraum weiterhin ein akkommodierender geldpolitischer Kurs angebracht. Wir müssen uns aber bewusst sein, dass sich die Wirtschaft bereits stärker erholt hat, als das die Inflationszahlen nahelegen, und dass der binnenwirtschaftliche Preisdruck allmählich anziehen und sich in Richtung unserer Preisstabilitätsdefinition bewegen wird.

Deshalb wäre meines Erachtens eine weniger konkrete Lockerung der Geldpolitik über das kommende Jahr hinweg und ein klares Enddatum für den Nettoerwerb von Vermögenswerten gerechtfertigt gewesen – auch weil die Risiken und Nebenwirkungen zunehmen werden, je länger wir eine ultralockere Ausrichtung beibehalten.

Die Geldpolitik im Euroraum wird auch nach Beendigung des Nettoerwerbs im Rahmen des Programms zum Ankauf von Vermögenswerten (APP) hochgradig akkommodierend bleiben.

Denn erstens hängt die Gesamtwirkung des APP nicht so sehr von der Höhe der monatlichen Ankäufe ab, sondern vielmehr vom Gesamtvolumen der Staatsanleihen, die das Eurosystem in seinen Bilanzen hält. Und da der EZB-Rat beschlossen hat, die Tilgungserträge aus fällig werdenden Anleihen wieder anzulegen, werden diese Bestände auch dann sehr hoch bleiben, wenn keine neuen Papiere mehr hinzugekauft werden.

Zweitens hat der EZB-Rat entschieden, bis weit über das Ende des Nettoerwerbs von Vermögenswerten hinaus keine Zinserhöhungen vorzunehmen.

Mit der Festlegung eines klaren Enddatums für den Nettoankauf von Vermögenswerten hätten wir also geldpolitisch nicht auf die Bremse getreten, sondern lediglich darauf verzichtet, noch mehr Gas zu geben.

Eines ist auf jeden Fall klar: Wie Mario Draghi dargelegt hat, lässt sich mit Geldpolitik allein kein nachhaltiges Wirtschaftswachstum schaffen.[2] Diese Aufgabe obliegt den Regierungen und Parlamenten.

3 Wirtschaftliche Herausforderungen in Deutschland

Gewiss wurden nach der Staatsschuldenkrise in vielen Mitgliedstaaten Reformen umgesetzt, die eine schnellere makroökonomische Anpassung ermöglicht haben. Einige davon haben die Funktionsfähigkeit der Arbeitsmärkte verbessert. Andere haben den Wettbewerb verstärkt und so für neue Innovationsimpulse gesorgt.

Aber es sind noch weitere Maßnahmen erforderlich, auch hier in Deutschland. Die Herausforderungen, denen sich Deutschland gegenüber sieht, mögen vielleicht weniger dringlich erscheinen als die anderer Mitgliedstaaten. Die Folgen einer alternden Bevölkerung manifestieren sich nicht so abrupt wie die einer Staatsschuldenkrise, doch die Herausforderung ist darum nicht weniger real. Ohne politisches Zutun wird das Wachstumspotenzial in Deutschland über die nächsten zehn Jahre hinweg voraussichtlich aufgrund des sinkenden Arbeitskräfteangebots auf unter 1 Prozent fallen.

Daher wäre es sinnvoll, Vorschriften zu ändern, die die Teilnahme am Arbeitsmarkt negativ beeinflussen. Um die Arbeitsmarktbeteiligung insbesondere von Frauen zu erhöhen, muss auch weiter in die Kinderbetreuung investiert werden.

Deutschlands Wachstumspotenzial lässt sich jedoch nicht allein durch eine Verlustminimierung am Arbeitsmarkt steigern. Die deutsche Wirtschaft muss auch produktiver werden.

In diesem Zusammenhang bietet die Digitalisierung noch ungenutztes Wachstumspotenzial. Studien belegen, dass die Beseitigung von Engpässen in den Breitbandnetzen das Wirtschaftswachstum ankurbeln kann, weil dadurch der Wettbewerb gestärkt und innovative Produkte und Prozesse gefördert werden.[3]

Um die digitale Dividende voll auszuschöpfen, brauchen wir vor allem Investitionen in Bildung und Ausbildung. Dies würde nicht nur die Arbeitsproduktivität erhöhen, sondern auch die Arbeitsplatzsicherheit. Und das wiederum wäre nach meiner Einschätzung die effektivste Abhilfe gegen das Gefühl vieler Menschen, dass die Globalisierung und der technische Fortschritt – beides wichtige Säulen unseres wirtschaftlichen Wohlstands – eine Bedrohung darstellen.

Selbst innerhalb der Europäischen Union gibt es übrigens noch keinen gemeinsamen Markt für digitale Produkte, und auch die Vollendung des Binnenmarkts für Dienstleistungen steht noch aus.

4 Stärkung der Widerstandsfähigkeit des Eurogebiets

Werden wirtschaftliche Herausforderungen ohne Umwege in Angriff genommen, wird dies nicht nur dem Wohlstand der Bürgerinnen und Bürger zugutekommen, auch der gleichgewichtige Realzins wird steigen. Der Abstand zur Zinsuntergrenze wird sich vergrößern und dies die Arbeit der Zentralbank wesentlich erleichtern.

Die Steigerung des Wachstumspotenzials in Deutschland und den übrigen Mitgliedstaaten kann zwar einiges zur Stärkung des Eurogebiets beitragen, doch es bedarf noch mehr, um unsere Währungsunion widerstandsfähiger zu gestalten.

Beim Thema Widerstandsfähigkeit drängt sich die Frage nach der Risikoteilung auf. Wie lassen sich Schocks abfedern, die einzelne Mitgliedstaaten besonders stark treffen?

In den USA und anderen großen Währungsräumen verbreiten sich Schocks dadurch, dass die Anteilseigner von Firmen häufig in anderen Bundesstaaten ansässig sind. Dementsprechend verteilen sich die Unternehmensgewinne und -verluste auf den gesamten Währungsraum. In den USA werden über das grenzüberschreitende Teilen von Verlusten rund 40 Prozent eines wirtschaftlichen Schocks abgefangen.[4]

Ersparnisbildung und Kreditgewährung könnten ein weiterer Kanal für die private Teilung von Risiken in der Wirtschaft sein. In Abschwungphasen nehmen Unternehmen und private Haushalte Kredite in verschiedenen US‑Bundesstaaten auf, um Einkommenseinbrüche zu überbrücken. Diese Form der Risikoteilung federt in den USA ungefähr 25 Prozent eines Schocks ab. Einen gewissen Anteil trägt dazu auch der US-Einlagensicherungsfonds (Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation) bei. In Europa sind die Voraussetzungen für die Einrichtung eines vergleichbaren europaweiten Mechanismus zur Einlagensicherung allerdings noch nicht gegeben. Auf diesen Punkt werde ich später noch einmal zurückkommen.

Die fiskalische Teilung von Risiken nimmt sich im Vergleich dazu bescheiden aus. In Förderalstaaten wie den USA und Kanada werden nur zwischen 10 Prozent und 25 Prozent aller Risiken durch eine gemeinsame Fiskalpolitik geteilt.[5]

Viel wäre also im Euroraum bereits erreicht, wenn die grenzüberschreitende Finanzierung von Unternehmen insbesondere über Eigenkapital gestärkt würde.

Eine ganze Reihe von Maßnahmen wäre nötig, um die Grenzen auf den europäischen Kapitalmärkten einzureißen. Als ein besonders wichtiger Schritt wäre hier beispielsweise die Vereinheitlichung der nationalen Insolvenzrechte zu nennen. Schließlich brauchen Investoren überall in Europa die gleichen verlässlichen Wettbewerbsbedingungen. Dies würde nicht nur die private Risikoteilung fördern, sondern auch dafür sorgen, dass weniger Kapital in weniger produktive und mehr Kapital in produktivere Unternehmen fließt. Das würde wiederum die wirtschaftliche Dynamik erhöhen, wie neueste Untersuchungen der OECD belegen.[6]

Allgemein leidet die Entwicklung der Eigenkapitalmärkte auch in Europa unter der steuerlichen Vorzugsbehandlung von Fremdkapital gegenüber Eigenkapital.[7]

Zinsausgaben können steuerlich geltend gemacht werden, Eigenkapitalkosten hingegen nicht. Die Beseitigung dieser Verzerrung würde Unternehmen dazu ermutigen, sich stärker über Eigenkapital zu finanzieren. Und dies würde eine stärkere private Risikoteilung ermöglichen und gleichzeitig die Verschuldungsneigung reduzieren.

Eine weitere Möglichkeit der Risikoteilung in Krisenzeiten könnte darin bestehen, dass Unternehmen und private Haushalte über Ländergrenzen hinweg Kredite aufnehmen. Während der Krise im Euroraum hat dieser Mechanismus allerdings kaum funktioniert. Schlimmer noch: In den Krisenländern verloren die Einleger das Vertrauen in ihr eigenes Bankensystem und zogen ihre Einlagen ab. Zudem vertrauten sich die Banken untereinander nicht mehr und schränkten die Kreditvergabe stark ein.

Die Bankenunion wurde unter anderem mit dem Ziel geschaffen, die Fragmentierung der Finanzmärkte zu überwinden, zu der es infolge der Staatsschuldenkrise gekommen war. Mit ihrem Einheitlichen Aufsichtsmechanismus und ihren Regeln zur Verlustbeteiligung von Gläubigern im Fall von Bankinsolvenzen stärkt sie die Widerstandsfähigkeit des Bankensektors. Der Verlust von Vertrauen in nationale Bankensysteme wird dadurch weniger wahrscheinlich. Und eine geringere Gefahr eines fragmentierten Finanzsystems stabilisiert überdies die grenzüberschreitende Kreditvergabe besonders in unruhigen Zeiten.

Eine gemeinsame Einlagensicherung könnte dieses Vertrauen im Prinzip sogar erhöhen. Wie bei jeder Versicherung müsste aber auch sichergesellt sein, dass sich aus der Versicherung nicht Anreize ergeben, leichtfertig Risiken einzugehen.

Risiken könnten sich aus einer sorglosen Vergabe von Krediten an den privaten Sektor ergeben. Sie können aber auch infolge einer zu hohen Kreditvergabe an Staaten entstehen. Spätestens seit Ausbruch der Staatsschuldenkrise wissen wir, dass auch Ausleihungen an öffentliche Haushalte nicht risikofrei sind.

Im Euroraum liegt ein großer Teil der Staatsanleihen in den Büchern der Banken. Versichert man in solch einer Situation im Euroraum Bankenrisiken, versichert man auch fiskalische Risiken.

Da aber die Mitgliedstaaten selbst nach wie vor frei und unabhängig über die Höhe ihrer Staatsausgaben und Steuern entscheiden, werden dadurch letztlich die falschen Anreize gesetzt, und die Finanzminister haben weniger Veranlassung, der Tragfähigkeit der öffentlichen Finanzen in ausreichendem Maße Rechnung zu tragen.

Voraussetzung für eine europäische Einlagensicherung ist daher, die Größe von Staatsanleiheportfolien in den Büchern der Banken zu begrenzen. Kredite an Staaten sollten nicht anders behandelt werden als Kredite an Unternehmen und Privatpersonen.

Eine weitere Voraussetzung betrifft den Bestand an notleidenden Krediten im europäischen Bankensystem. Versicherungen decken in der Regel nur zukünftige, nicht aber bereits bestehende Schäden ab. Das bedeutet, dass die Banken im Euro-Währungsgebiet ihre notleidenden Kredite entweder in vollem Umfang durch Rückstellungen absichern oder sie abstoßen müssen, um an der gemeinsamen Einlagensicherung teilnehmen zu können.

Problemkredite stellen nicht nur ein Hindernis für eine gemeinsame Einlagensicherung dar. Sie wirken sich auch nachteilig auf die Finanzierungsbedingungen aus und hemmen letztlich die Wachstumsaussichten in den betroffenen Mitgliedstaaten. Die Banken müssen ihren Altbestand an faulen Krediten abbauen. Außerdem müssen wir Regeln schaffen, die auch in Zukunft einen umsichtigen Umgang mit notleidenden Krediten gewährleisten. Die jüngsten diesbezüglichen Vorschläge der EZB scheinen eine sinnvolle Vorgehensweise darzustellen.

 

5 Schlussbemerkungen

Meine sehr geehrten Damen und Herren,

ich möchte nun zum Abschluss kommen.

Schließlich möchte ich nicht, dass es Ihnen geht wie der Patientin, die einmal ihren Arzt anflehte, ihr zu Unsterblichkeit zu verhelfen.

Der Arzt erklärte ihr, dass dies die Möglichkeiten der Medizin überschreite, doch die Patientin ließ nicht locker: "Gibt es den gar nichts, was ich tun kann?" Der Arzt antwortete: "Doch, eines könnten Sie tun. Heiraten Sie einen Ökonomen und ziehen Sie mit ihm irgendwo in die Pampa." "Und dann werde ich unsterblich?" "Nein, das nicht, aber so werden Ihnen schon sechs Monate wie eine Ewigkeit vorkommen."

Ich bedanke mich für Ihre Aufmerksamkeit und wünsche Ihnen eine anregende Diskussion.

 

Fußnoten:

  1. R. Auer, C. Borio und A. Filardo (2017), The globalisation of inflation: the growing importance of global value chains, BIS Working Paper Nr. 602, Bank für Internationalen Zahlungsausgleich.
  2. M. Draghi, (2015), Monetary policy and structural reforms in the euro area, Rede am 14. Dezember 2015.
  3. Czernich et al. (2011), Broadband infrastructure and economic growth, Economic Journal, Bd. 121.
  4. P. Asdrubali, B. E. Sørensen und O. Yosha, Channels of Interstate Risk Sharing: US 1963-1990, in: Quarterly Journal of Economics, 111(4), 1996, S. 1081-1110.
  5. C. Allard, P. K. Brooks, J. C. Bluedorn, F. Bornhorst, K. Christopherson, F. Ohnsorge und T. Poghosyan in Zusammenarbeit mit einem IMF-Team (2013), Towards a Fiscal Union for the Euro Area, IMF Staff Discussion Note,13/09.
  6. M. Adalet McGowan und Andrews D, (2016), Insolvency Regimes And Productivity Growth: A Framework For Analysis, OECD Economics Department Working Papers, Nr. 1309.
  7. Sachverständigenrat zur Begutachtung der gesamtwirtschaftlichen Entwicklung (2017), Für eine zukunftsorientierte Wirtschaftspolitik

Deutsche Bundesbank
Kommunikation

Wilhelm-Epstein-Straße 14, 60431 Frankfurt am Main
Internet: http://www.bundesbank.de | E-Mail: info@bundesbank.de
Telefon: +49 69 9566-0 | Fax: +49 69 9566-3077

Bei publizistischer Verwertung wird um Angabe der Quelle gebeten.