Navigation and service

Deutsche Bundesbank (Link to homepage)

Executive Board of the Deutsche Bundesbank

Bundesbank executive board [+] From left: Johannes Beermann, Joachim Wuermeling, Claudia Buch, Jens Weidmann

The Executive Board governs and manages the Bundesbank. It comprises the President, the Vice-President and at four other members. The members of the Executive Board are appointed by the President of the Federal Republic of Germany.

The President, the Vice-President and one other member are nominated by the Federal Government; the other three members are nominated by the Bundesrat (the upper house of Parliament representing the Federal States) in agreement with the Federal Government.

Composition and responsibilities

  • Dr Jens Weidmann

    President of the Deutsche Bundesbank
    Member of the Governing Council of the ECB

    • Communications
    • Legal
    • Economics
    • Research Centre


    • Risk Control
  • Prof Claudia M. Buch

    Vice-President of the Deutsche Bundesbank
    Person accompanying the president at the ECB Governing Council

    • Financial Stability
    • Internal audit
    • Statistics
  • Dr Johannes Beermann

    • Human Resources
    • Administration and Premises
    • Procurement Centre


    • Cash management
    • Controlling, Accounting and Organisation
    • Payment and Settlement Systems
  • Prof Joachim Wuermeling

    • Information Technology
    • Markets


    • Banking and Financial Supervision
    • Economic Education, University of Applied Sciences and International Central Bank Dialogue