2015 – 30 years of the EU flag

German €2 commemorative coin - 2015 - 30 years of the EU flag ©VfS
The 19 EU member states jointly issued a €2 commemorative coin to celebrate “30 years of the EU flag”. The motif on the national side of the €2 commemorative coin, the design of which is normally reserved for that specific country, is the same in all countries.

This is the fourth time a €2 commemorative coin has been issued to honour a European event. The first coin was issued in 2007 to mark the 50th anniversary of the signing of the Treaties of Rome. In 2009, the then 16 member states commemorated ten years of the European Economic and Monetary Union and in 2012 they marked the 10th anniversary of the introduction of euro cash.

In order to decide on a motif for the national side of the €2 commemorative coin to mark 30 years of the EU flag, a professional jury selected five designs from the 62 proposals submitted by European mints; euro area citizens were then invited to select the winning design.