Regional Offices and branches of the Deutsche Bundesbank

Regional Offices

Within the framework of banking supervision, the Regional Offices monitor credit institutions and financial service providers in their respective regions.

Banks can use the Bundesbank for refinancing purposes. In order to do so they are required to deposit collateral, eg credit claims of enterprises. The Regional Offices analyse the creditworthiness of these enterprises.

The Regional Offices also organise regional events to inform the general public about issues relating to money, monetary policy and the financial markets.


The branches are subordinate to the Regional Office responsible for their region.

They supply the economy with euro banknotes and coins, and offer private customers the opportunity to exchange D-Mark banknotes and coins free-of-charge and with no fixed deadline.

Further information, such as branch addresses, opening hours and travel directions, can be obtained from the relevant Regional Office or from the following list.

Regional Offices and branches

Göttingen branch Rostock branch Hamburg branch Neubrandenburg branch Berlin branch Osnabrück branch Oldenburg branch Hannover branch Magdeburg branch Erfurt branch Leipzig branch Chemnitz branch Bielefeld branch Dortmund branch North Rhine-Westphalia Cologne branch Koblenz branch Mainz branch Ludwigshafen branch Saarbrücken branch Ulm branch Reutlingen branch Villingen-Schwenningen branch Freiburg branch Stuttgart branch Karlsruhe branch Frankfurt am Main branch Würzburg branch Nuremberg branch Regensburg branch Augsburg branch Munich branch

Choose a city in the overview and click on the accompanying link to get further information.