€2 collectors' coin “Saxony-Anhalt”

2021 – Saxony-Anhalt

As part of the “Federal States” series, the German government has decided to mint a  €2 commemorative coin “Saxony-Anhalt” (featuring Magdeburg Cathedral). It was issued on 26 January 2021. It is the 16th coin in the series, which was launched in 2006 and numbers 17 coins (one for each of the 16 federal states and one coin featuring the Bundesrat as a constitutional body). The coins will be issued in the same order as the presidency of the Bundesrat.

15 coins – with a total circulation of around 450 million – have already been issued in this series, which is intended to communicate a clearer idea of Germany’s federal structure to a European general public.

The national side of the coin was designed by  Rodenbach-based artist Michael Otto depicting Magdeburg Cathedral. The twelve stars of Europe are shown on the outer ring of the national side. In the core area of the coin is the respective building, the letter “D” indicating that the country of issue is the Federal Republic of Germany, the year of issue “2021",  the mint mark, the name of the federal state and the initials of the artist.

The European side corresponds to the common reverse side of the regular issue €2 coin in circulation since 2007, which depicts a map of Europe without national borders. The technical parameters of the €2 collectors’ coin are the same as those on any regular issue €2 coin.

As on current German €2 commemorative coins, the inscription “EINIGKEIT UND RECHT UND FREIHEIT” (“UNITY, JUSTICE AND FREEDOM”) is embossed on the coin edge, together with a stylised Federal eagle.

The envisaged minting volume for each circulating coin in this series is 30 million. The coins are legal tender throughout the euro area.