5th Annual Macroprudential Conference

The topics discussed at the conference included a case study on the Japanese banking crisis, an analysis of central bank-issued digital currencies, a study on borrower and lender resilience, an assessment of post-crisis capital rules and their governance, a critical appraisal of the concept of GDP at risk, and a study on the independence of macroprudential policy during a fiscal crisis. Top academics and policymakers prepared or discussed papers on these topics, and Jean Tirole (Toulouse School of Economics, winner of the 2014 Nobel Prize in Economics) gave a keynote speech. Jens Weidmann, President of the Deutsche Bundesbank, delivered the opening address. 

Scientific committee:

  • Viral V Acharya, Reserve Bank of India
  • Darrell Duffie, Graduate School of Business, Stanford University
  • Anil Kashyap, University of Chicago's Booth School of Business
  • Nobuhiro Kiyotaki, Princeton University
  • Rafael Repullo, Centre for Monetary and Financial Studies (CEMFI), Madrid
  • Hélène Rey, London Business School

Organising committee:

  • Emanuel Mönch, Deutsche Bundesbank
  • Jakob de Haan, De Nederlandsche Bank
  • Jonas Niemeyer, Sveriges Riksbank