Group of Seven (G7)

The G7 is an informal club of seven of the world's most advanced economies (Germany, France, Italy, Japan, Canada, the United States and the United Kingdom). The Bundesbank has a particular interest in issues concerning the policies of international financial institutions and the stability and integrity of the international financial and monetary system. Although many issues are increasingly being discussed within the G20, the G7 plays an important role in exchanging opinions and working out unified positions. In the discussions held by G7 finance ministers and central bank governors, the Bundesbank is represented by its president. The ECB, the European Commission and the IMF are also represented at these meetings.

Overview of the G7 Presidencies (since 2013)

  • 01.01.2013 – 30.06.2014 United Kingdom*
  • 01.07.2014 – 31.12.2015 Germany*
  • 01.01.2016 – 31.12.2016 Japan
  • 01.01.2017 – 31.12.2017 Italy
  • 01.01.2018 – 31.12.2018 Canada
  • 01.01.2019 – 31.12.2019 France
  • 01.01.2020 - 31.12.2020   United States
  • 01.01.2021 - 31.12.2021   United Kingdom
  • 01.01.2022 - 31.12.2022   Germany

* During the Russian G8 Presidency at the level of Heads of State or of Government, at the level of G7 finance minister and central bank governors the United Kingdom and Germany each assumed the G7 Presidency for an additional six months.