Eligibility criteria

Detailed information on the individual criteria for eligible assets may be found in part 4 of "Guideline (EU) 2015/510 of the European Central Bank of 19 December 2014 on the implementation of the Eurosystem monetary policy framework (ECB/2014/60)" (The document is to be found on the right-hand side.).

Our collateral contacts will also be pleased to assist you with any other questions you may have.

Selected eligibility criteria for marketable assets

Type of asset

Euro-denominated senior debt instruments

Type of issuer/guarantor

Central banks, public sector, private sector, multilateral development banks or international organisations

Place of establishment of issuer (guarantor)

EEA or non-EEA G10 countries approved by the ECB (EEA)

Place of issue


Acceptable markets

Admission for trading on a regulated market or traded on a non-regulated market accepted by the ECB

Settlement procedure

Settlement in the euro area; centrally deposited in book-entry form at an organisation which fulfils the ECB's minimum requirements

Credit standards

Must be met by the asset and the issuer/guarantor respectively

Selected eligibility criteria for non-marketable assets

Type of asset

Euro-denominated credit claims and borrowers’ note loans

Type of debtor/guarantor

Public sector, non-financial corporations, multilateral development banks or international organisations

Place of establishment of debtor/guarantor

Euro area

Settlement procedure

Eurosystem procedures

Credit standards

Must be met by the debtor/guarantor of the credit claim, or by the RMBD

Governing law

Credit claim contract and agreement between the counterparty submitting the credit claim and the national central bank must both comply with the law of an euro-area member state

Minimum size for domestic use

For the time being set for each NCB (BBk: No minimum)

Minimum size for cross-border use

As a rule € 500,000 throughout the Eurosystem

Deutsche Bundesbank's country-specific rules regarding the submission of credit claims

Minimum size for domestic useHandling feeSettlement procedure




Temporary eligibility criteria

Beside the general eligibility criteria for eligible collateral temporary measures were introduced as a consequence  of the financial crisis of 2008 – an instrument which has also been used in the context of the European debt crisis. Part of these temporary measures are the acceptance of foreign currency denominated collateral (for now: USD, GBP, JPY) or the suspension of the minimum rating threshold for assets issued or guaranteed by a euro area Member State compliant with an EU/IMF-programme.