Executive Board of the Deutsche Bundesbank ©Gaby Gerster

Executive Board of the Deutsche Bundesbank

The Executive Board governs and manages the Bundesbank. It comprises the President, the Vice-President and four other members. The members of the Executive Board are appointed by the President of the Federal Republic of Germany.

The President, the Vice-President and one other member are nominated by the Federal Government; the other three members are nominated by the Bundesrat (the upper house of Parliament representing the federal states) in agreement with the Federal Government.

Responsibility for Construction Management, Procurement and Administration has been reassigned to the newly created position of Chief Operating Officer (COO) with effect from 15 January 2024. The COO reports directly to the Executive Board as a whole.

Temporary reshuffle of responsibilities within the Executive Board of the Deutsche Bundesbank

Professor Claudia M. Buch and Professor Joachim Wuermeling left the Deutsche Bundesbank’s Executive Board on 31 December 2023. As a result, the Executive Board has temporarily reshuffled its areas of responsibility until the vacancies have been filled.

The following temporary allocation of responsibilities shall apply with immediate effect. 

Dr Joachim Nagel

President of the Deutsche Bundesbank,
Member of the Governing Council of the ECB

Burkhard Balz

Dr Sabine Mauderer