The Origin of Money – Part III: Central Bank Money

In the euro area, the euro is the common currency. Euro banknotes and coins are legal tender. Only the central banks - in Germany the Deutsche Bundesbank - are allowed to put it into circulation. They do this through the commercial banks.

Note: Croatia joined the euro area on 1 January 2023. Since then, the euro area has comprised 20 countries.