Regular coins

Common front side

All euro coins have a common "European" side and a national side. The common side has the same design in all the euro-area member states. Owing to the enlargement of the European Union (EU), the motif on the European side has had a new design since 1 January 2007.

The European side was changed in 2007 after enlargement of the European Union to 27 countries.

The old euro and cent coins show the 15 countries of the European Union before its enlargement on 1 May 2004. The coins showing the 15 EU member states continue to be valid as legal tender throughout the euro area.

National side

The eight euro and cent coins clearly differ from one another in terms of their design, size and colour. There are coins in the following denominations: €2, €1, 50 cent, 20 cent, 10 cent, 5 cent, 2 cent and 1 cent. One euro is divided into 100 cents.

Each country participating in the euro can design its own motifs and symbols for the national side of its coins. All euro coins can be used for making cash payments throughout the euro area, irrespective of which national side the coins have.

You can find information on German €2 commemorative coins in the respective section.