Green Finance at the Bundesbank

The effects of climate change are felt around the world. Extreme weather events such as heatwaves and heavy rainfall are becoming more frequent and more severe in Germany, too. The Paris Agreement highlights the effects of climate change on the global financial system – and the importance of the global financial system to fight climate change. 

Against this backdrop, the Bundesbank, within the scope of its mandate, supports the transition towards a greener financial system. We analyse the impact of climate change and climate policy on the financial sector, as we consider climate-related risks as a source of financial risks. Our experts are engaged in national and international fora, such as the global Network for Greening the Financial System (NGFS), of which we are a founding member.

The following video provides a short introduction to the topic and shows what work is currently underway at the Bundesbank.

Weidmann: Central banks can and should do more about climate change than they have so far

Central banks need to factor climate-related financial risks into their risk management. Bundesbank President Jens Weidmann argued at the press conference presenting the Bank’s 2019 annual accounts.

Financial Stability Review

For the first time, the Bundesbank has dedicated an entire chapter to climate-related risks. It is important that the financial system is resilient to uncertainties and risks surrounding climate change and climate policy.

The sustainable finance market – an overview

The European sustainable finance market is currently undergoing dynamic growth. Bundesbank experts believe that new transparency requirements, more information and clear definitions would give the market an additional boost and provide clarity for investors.

Euro20+

For the second time, the Bundesbank invited 250 motivated young people to come together and discuss key economic and social issues concerning the future of Europe and the euro area, all un-der the motto of “Your Europe. Your future.”.

Service Navigation

Green Finance

Green Finance bei der Bundesbank

Der Klimawandel ist weltweit spürbar. Auch hierzulande werden extreme Wetterereignisse wie Hitzewellen und Starkregen häufiger und heftiger. Durch das Pariser Klimaschutzabkommen zur Begrenzung der Erderwärmung sind auch die Folgen des Klimawandels für das globale Finanzsystem verstärkt in den Fokus gerückt. 

Vor diesem Hintergrund unterstützt die Bundesbank, im Rahmen ihres Mandats, den grünen Wandel im Finanzsystem. Zudem analysiert sie die Auswirkungen von Klimawandel und Klimapolitik auf den Finanzsektor, denn Klimarisiken sind auch finanzielle Risiken. Unsere Expertinnen und Experten sind auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene aktiv, und wir sind Gründungsmitglied des weltweiten „Network for Greening the Financial System“.

Dieses Video gibt eine Einführung in das Thema sowie Einblicke, was die Bundesbank konkret tut.

Weidmann: Banken müssen finanzielle Risiken aus dem Klimawandel berücksichtigen

Bundesbankpräsident Jens Weidmann zufolge müssen die Banken die finanziellen Risiken aus dem Klimawandel in ihrem Risikomanagement angemessen berücksichtigen. „Sollte dadurch die Finanzierung klimaschädlicher Projekte unattraktiver werden, wäre das ein willkommener Nebeneffekt“, sagte er bei einer Rede.

Finanzstabilitätsbericht

Erstmals widmet die Bundesbank klimabezogenen Risiken ein eigenes Kapitel. Es geht darum, dass das Finanzsystem robust gegenüber Unsicherheiten und Risiken des Klimawandels sowie der Klimapolitik ist.

Der Markt für nachhaltige Finanzanlagen – ein Überblick

Der europäische Markt für nachhaltige Finanzanlagen weist derzeit ein dynamisches Wachstum auf. Für einen zusätzlichen Schub und Klarheit bei den Anlegern würden aus Sicht der Fachleute der Bundesbank neue Transparenzpflichten, Informationen und klare Definitionen sorgen.

Euro20+

Die Bundesbank hat zum zweiten Mal 250 junge engagierte Menschen eingeladen, um unter dem Motto „Dein Europa. Deine Zukunft“ über zentrale wirtschaftspolitische und gesellschaftliche Fragen zur Zukunft Europas und der Währungsunion zu diskutieren.

Nach oben